Skip to content

Current Thesis Proposal

March 14, 2010

I find examples of work done by other graduate students particularly helpful in framing my own perspectives on research. With that in mind, I’m placing a pdf of my current thesis proposal to aid those who are either thinking about topics, or how to structure a proposal. Clearly, it’s a proposal geared towards historical geography and has a decidedly qualitative orientation. No one proposal format will work for all types of research, even within geography. Regardless, hopefully other geography graduate students can benefit from this humble proposal:

JCoolidge_ThesisProposal_15Feb2010

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 31, 2014 6:14 am

    Thanks for posting your Master’s Thesis proposal, Jake. I start my Master’s program this Fall. After being accepted into the program, one of the first things I did was meet with my graduate advisor. I came prepared with 5 thesis ideas that I had thoroughly researched. He approved my first proposed topic which is a historic look at land use practices as influenced by available water resources in a very specific region. Although my MS will be in water resources management, my advisor liked the cross-discipline [physical, historical and social] study it provided.

    I have been working on the proposal-researching, interviewing and gathering resources-throughout the summer and hope to hand the proposal over to my advisor during the first week of classes. I have looked at a number of proposals provided by my advisor, but because they’re all focused strictly on physical geography, I have found it tough to relate them to my proposal.

    Your thesis proposal has given me lots of good ideas regarding format and the presentation of content. I thank you for posting the proposal and want you to know it has helped tremendously. ~ Paul

Leave a Reply

